Mentor visit

On Friday my mentor came to visit, a week late! He had organised to visit the week before and didn’t show up. But all was forgiven when he came with chocolates in hand to apologize for not turning up the week before.

He was lovely and we chatted for about half an hour. He actually showed up when I had to walk the students back from the computer labs to the classroom, so I was a bit nervous!

He gave me some useful tips. He said to research the Art and Science of Teaching (ASOT) thoroughly because Robert Marzano provides some amazing advice for teachers. So I plan to get this book if I can.

He told me to join the master teachers website which is the go to site for professional development.

And lastly he suggested to research Bill Rogers who is an education consultant focusing on behaviour management strategies.

I am finishing up my placement tomorrow and it will be a bittersweet day. I will miss the class and the teachers. But I am looking forward to going back to Singapore to see my husband and getting back into everyday life… including finishing off the assignment for this course.

Signing off,

Bec

Leave a Reply

